Croagh Patrick Pilgrimage
The majestic Croagh Patrick overlooks Clew Bay and the entire western coastline, and is one of Mayo’s most famous landmarks. It was named after St Patrick, the patron saint of Ireland, after he reportedly spent 40 days and 40 nights fasting and praying on the summit in 441AD. Now the mountain is one of Europe’s best known places of pilgrimage.
Every year, on ‘Reek Sunday’, the last Sunday in July, thousands of people, some barefooted, make the pilgrimage to the summit and attend mass in the church. Starting from Murrisk Abbey, the first stop is Saint Patrick's statue which was erected in 1928 by Reverend Father Patterson with money he collected in America towards the rebuilding of Saint Mary's Church. Pilgrims then visit the three stations of Reek: Leacht Benain, the summit, and Roilig Mhuire. There are magnificent views of Clew Bay and the surrounding Mayo coastline at every stage of the climb.
Individuals and groups come from all over the world to follow in St. Patrick’s footsteps and undertake this unique journey.